Tagged and Turkey, Spinach & Feta Meatloaf

I’ve been tagged by Kate at Winning Friends with Salad. Here are the rules!

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.
2. Share 5 facts about yourself.
3. Tag 5 people at the end of your post and list their names, linking to them.
4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment at their blogs.

My Five Facts:
1. If I could only only eat one thing for the rest of my life it would be cheesecake.
2. I am the second oldest out of 8 children.
3. One of my favorite things to do growing up was making and pulling taffy from scratch with my best friend Erica.  She is still my best friend today.
4. Two of my sisters were Lumberjack Princesses. They rode in the Lumberjack Parade every 4th of July and held hunks of wood instead of flowers.
5. My great-grandfather on my Mother’s side worked as a cranberry bogger South of Boston in the early 1900’s.  He died before I got to meet him.

Ok, now I tag:  PB Boy, Melissa, Anne, Gluten-Free Girl  and Dieting Battle girl.

Now that we got that out of the way, I present glorious Turkey Meatloaf Roll:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4cup shredded carrot
  • 1/2 bread crumbs
  • 1(10ounce)package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2cup chopped onion
  • 1/2cup crumbled fat free feta cheese
  • 1 1/2lbs ground turkey (Italian style)
  • 1cup quick oat or old fashioned oat, uncooked
  • 1teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1/4teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2cup nonfat milk

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients together except the spinach and feta in a large bowl.  You can put a little spinach in for color if you want (I did!).
  3. Add ½ of the feta cheese to the mixture.
  4. On a piece of wax paper lay out the mixture and flatten into a rectangle shape. Make sure the meat is even.
  5. Spread an even layer of spinach then feta on the rectangle.
  6. Carefully lift up the side of the wax paper and roll into a pinwheel.  Tuck ends in.
  7. Transfer to a greased baking sheet.
  8. Bake for 30 minutes uncovered then an additional 15 minutes covered in tinfoil.
  9. Let cool before slicing into 8 portions.

WWP:  5
Serves:  8

Click here for a printable version of Turkey Meatloaf Roll with Spinach & Feta

 

4 thoughts on “Tagged and Turkey, Spinach & Feta Meatloaf

  1. First timer at your blog! Like what I see so far 😀

    Meatloaf roll! That’s amazing! I actually like this stuff, and I love how you made it even more exciting 😀

    And I know what you mean about cheesecake! If they weren’t so fattening I’d had a piece after every meal!

Leave a comment