Happy Anniversary….to Me!

My husband and I celebrated our 5-year wedding anniversary today.  We slept in and then headed for Becky’s diner (check out their website, it’s really cool); a Portland, ME landmark.  As expected it was packed, but we were more than happy to sit among the locals at the counter. 

I agreed to “take a day off” from counting and indulge, because hey, it’s a really special day.  We ordered the wharf special.  Next time we’ll only order 1 and split it.  It was WAY too much food.

This was just my portion (Holy crap, right?):  Homemade blueberry pancakes, hash-browns, homemade wheat toast, bacon and scrambled eggs.  I ate 1 pancake, a few bites of hash-brown, 1 egg and 1/2 a piece of toast.  Thankfully, I was wearing elastic pants. 

Needless to say, we skipped lunch.

We spend the rest of the morning walking around the Old Port.  Window shopping here and browsing through random art galleries (this was not my husbands favorite part-).

For dinner Andy took me to Cinque Terrain the Old Port (we burned a lot of gas today).  His boss took him there a few weeks ago and he loved it.  I can see why!  I’m a big fan of Italian food, especially upscale Italian food (not that I’ve had thatmuch experience).  The restaurant had very modern decor (no large red pepper pictures like at Olive Garden), beautiful lighting and a-m-a-z-i-n-g food.  I’m already planning a trip back for my birthday.  I will need to hop on the treadmill for a few hours tomorrow – but it was totally worth it.  For dinner I had:

Starter: Fresh mozzarella, confit tomatoes, organic arugula, aged balsamic vinegar.

Main Course: Handmade Fettuccine with seasonal mushrooms, local ramps, herbs, speck ham.

Dessert (!): Brown Sugar Cheesecake, Shortbread Crust, Blackberry Compote, Caramel Sauce.  Truly the best thing I’ve ever eaten.  I dragged it out for a 1/2 hour.

      

Well, i’m off to do some crunches!  See you tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary….to Me!

  1. April says:

    Happy Anniversary !!
    Looks like you got to eat some real great food, and enjoyed your “day off”. I do that also, take days away from counting.. it is nice every once in awhile.
    Keep up the great work on your blog…. I enjoy reading your posts!!

    Smile lots and be happy!!

  2. Happy Anniversary! You definitely need a day off from the diet once in a while, especially on such a special occasion. Good choice of foods for a day off too! Brown sugar cheesecake sounds out of this world.

  3. divagirlrn says:

    Happy Anniversary to you and Andy! It sounds like you had a wonderful day. The food looked delicious!

Leave a Reply

