Apple Crisp Cake

After making chili yesterday, I’ve been on a bit of a fall kick.  So today I decided to experiment with a few different recipes and came up with Apple Crisp Cake.  It’s divine.  Literally, straight from the Lord.

It makes 12 servings at 8pts a piece, which is a little hefty, but totally worth it.  Hey, what are flex points for anyway?  With that said, if you have any ideas on how to make it more figure friendly I want to hear them!  My brain was tired today.  Probably because I spent the first part of the morning grocery shopping at Super Wal-Mart.  That place can suck the life out of you faster than anything.  Ugh.

My plans for this dessert are to have a small piece after dinner (in additional to the tablespoon(s) fulls I had when it came out of the oven – HOT) and then get rid of it as fast as possible (i.e. give it away to a skinny unsuspecting friend).  It’s so good, it simply musn’t be left in the house.  I bet your wondering about that white stuff.  Well, yes that does make it more points, kinda.  It’s Blue Bunny Fat Free Sugar Free vanilla frozen yogurt  (click here for a printable coupon) and I had less than 1/4c. which isn’t even 1 pt!  I love you Blue Bunny.

Apple Crisp Cake

INGREDIENTS:

1 box Cake Mix (I use Dunkin Hines French vanilla)
2 1/2c. Rolled Oats
3/4c. & 2 TBSP Butter, melted (I use Smart balance)
6 Apples, diced
1/3c. Sugar
1 tsp. Cinnamon
1 tsp. Flour

DIRECTIONS:

1. Coat a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. Add diced apples, cinnamon, sugar and flour and toss until evenly coated.

2. Cut 2 TBSP of butter into 8 equal portions and place on top of apple mixture.

 

3. In a separate bowl combine cake mix, rolled oats and 3/4c. of melted butter and stir until crumbly.

                        

4. Spread mixture on top of apples evenly and press down with your hands (yep, roll up your sleeves ladies).

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

Enjoy! 

(if your quiet you can hear the angels singing in Heaven)

WWP:  8

Servings: 12

Click here for a printable version of this recipe!

9 thoughts on “Apple Crisp Cake

  1. Rachel says:

    To lighten it up, you could try using something like Smart Balance Light instead of the butter, or maybe 50/50. It’s got a great butter taste but way less fat and calories.

  2. Col says:

    OMG! I just made this but tweaked your recipe a little. I added a couple hand fulls of dried mixed berries and drizzled some maple syrup over the apples.

    My husband better come home soon or I might sit down and eat the whole pan myslef!!

  3. Col – I’m glad you liked it! Dried fruit sounds like a delicious addition. I may have to try that!

    My church is going apple picking on Saturday, so i’ll be making this again soon.

    Thanks for the comment!

Leave a comment