Honey, can I turn on the heat?

It’s freezing here today.  The thermostat has barely hit 65.  And, its raining.  In fact, I can’t remember the last time it didn’t rain.  Very unseasonable for this time of year. 

We’ve been traveling far more than I desire to this summer.  Off on vacation with the in-laws, picnics and bbq’s, local fairs, bridal showers in New York, and the latest – SOULFEST, a four day Christian music festival and camping excursion with 6 of our teens from youth group.   

I’m plum exhausted.

Next week is the last trip of the summer: New York again for my baby sister’s wedding.  The 8-hour trip gets longer every time.  Fly?  What a great idea, except the nearest airport is over 2 hours from my parents house.  Can you say boondocks?

Upon returning I plan to practice agoraphobia.   Hibernation will commence September 1st.  All joking aside I’m really looking forward to fall.  Back to schedules, cooler weather (although 65 is pretty cool), leaves, pumpkin spice candles, far less tourists (especially ones that go 10 miles below the speed limit in the left hand lane) and fall cooking (read: soup/stew/chili).

Are you ready for fall or are you clinging every last bit of summer?

I decided to take advantage of the weather and day off and cook me up some chili.  DH won’t touch the stuff seeing as how “everythings is all mixed together”.   Looks like chicken fingers for him tonight.

Three Bean Turkey Chili

                

Click below for the recipe and more pics!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 20oz. Italian style ground turkey
  • 2 (10.75 ounce) cans low sodium tomato soup, such as Campbells Healthy Choice 
  • 1 (15 ounce) cans kidney beans, rinsed & drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed & drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pinto beans, rinsed & drained
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt to taste

DIRECTIONS:

1.  In a cast iron pot add olive oil and onions over medium heat and stir until translucent.

2.  Add ground turkey and cook until no longer pink.

 

3.  Add tomato soup and all of the spices and stir until mixed.

 

4.  Gently stir in the beans.

5.  Put on low and simmer for 4 hours.

(this picture is blury on purpose!  I don’t want you to see how badly I need to clean my stove!)

Servings:  8

WWP:  6 per 1c.

Click here for a printable version of this recipe!

5 thoughts on “Honey, can I turn on the heat?

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

