Cinnamon Flax Scones

Cinnamon Flax Scones

Last Thursday during Life Group, while everyone else was watching LOST (blah!) my little friend Lilli and I decided to make a “cooking project”.   I decided that I wanted to use the milled flax seed I bought at the grocery store several months ago because up until then I hadn’t found a use for it.  A quick Google search came up this recipe for cinnamon flax scones at Bob’s Red Mill.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1-3/4 cups White Flour, Unbleached
  • 1/4 cup Milled Flax seed
  • 1/3 cup Sugar (plus more for sprinkles)
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1-1/2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup Light butter
  • 3/4 cup Fat Free Buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup Raisins

DIRECTIONS:

Thoroughly mix flour, milled flax seed, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Cut butter into dry ingredients until a pea-sized, mealy texture is formed. Add FF buttermilk. Do not over mix.

Place dough on floured breadboard with raisins. Knead 5 to 7 times to incorporate the raisins. Roll until dough is 1/2 inch thick. Cut into triangles 2 inches wide by 4 inches long. Place on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 12 minutes or until done.  Be careful not to over bake or they will be dry!

Serves 16

WWP 2

Lilli was so proud of “her” creation.  She told me her favorite part was when I let her use the pasty tool to fold in the butter.  Oh, what fun.

Scones before the bake.  Originally I started with 8 scones, but after they bake they were huge I cut them in half again to make 16.

Into the oven they go!

One of the best things about cooking with a kid is that they love doing the dishes.  I put Lilli right to work, careful to spread several towels on the floor underneath her.

Lilli so proud of herself.

9 thoughts on “Cinnamon Flax Scones

  1. I love scones and these sound amazing. Now I just have to figure out where to get a “lilli” to help with the dishes;). But all joking aside, she is adorable and I love to see kids helping in the kitchen!

  2. Nice to see young people prepare and recommend healthy food. While I particularly like cinammon, integrating milled flax seed into scones makes it a heart healthy treat. Flax seed is enriched with Omega 3 EFAs that provides a lot of health benefits to the body. I should try this recipe at home. Thanks – steve

  3. emily says:

    I am so glad to have found this recipe–It was recommended by my sister years ago and then I found it on a bobs red mill package. I have somehow lose mine and am so grateful that you posted it. What lovely pictures of the baker as well! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

