Saturday Supper Recipes

Wheat Berry and Wild Rice Salad

Pesto Wheat Bread

Pot Roast with Veggies

Click “read more” for full recipes!

Wheat Berry and Wild Rice Salad

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup wheat berries
½ cup wild rice
¼ cup thinly sliced green onions
1 T. fresh basil or 1 t. dried
½ t. salt
¼ cup Italian salad dressing
½ cup dried cranberries
1 T. honey mustard
½ cup coarsely chopped pistachio nuts

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In med. Sauce pan bring 3 cups water to boiling.
  2. Add wheat berries, rice and salt. Reduce heat.
  3. Cover and simmer 1 hour or until tender.
  4. Drain and set aside.
  5. In small bowl combine dressing, basil and honey mustard.
  6. In med. Bowl combine wheat, rice, cranberries and green onion.
  7. Toss with dressing mixture.
  8. Cover and chill 4-24 hours. Just before serving, stir in nuts.

Serves 8 (1/2c. portion)
WWP: 3

Pesto Wheat Bread

taken from The Biggest book of Bread Machine Recipes

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/4c. Water (80-90 degrees)
2 tbsp Olive oil
2c. Whole Wheat Flour
1c. Bread Flour
1/2c. Fresh basil
1/3c. Parmesan Cheese, shredded
1 tbsp brown sugar
3/4tsp salt
1tsp Bread Machine Yeast
1/2c Pine nuts or Slivered almonds

DIRECTIONS:
1. Add the ingredients to the machine according to the manufacturer’s directions. If available, select the whole grain cycle, or select the basic white bread style.

Servings: 16 slices
WWP: 2

Pot Roast with Veggies

INGREDIENTS:
3-4lb Boneless Beef Chuck
FF Beef Stock
Bay Leaves
Oregano
Garlic Salt
1 large Onion, sliced
Baby Carrots

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add ingredients to crock pot and cook on high for 5 hours or low for 8 hours.

Serves 6 (3oz portions)
WWP: 7

7 thoughts on “Saturday Supper Recipes

  1. Nice job Amanda, each one by itself is an awesome recipe. I particularly like the look of that wheat berry salad, a grain I need to try soon. I just made a crowd pleasing grain myself, edamame bulgur. I’ll be posting it soon but it sure was tasty. I bet the cranberries really made the salad there though. Excellent work!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. That food looks wonderful! Just what I need to do to get some excitement back into my healthy eating plan!
    Thanks for joining us on the Perfect Day Challenge! I really need one and it helps to know that I’ll have so much company. Good Luck!

  3. What kind of bread machine do you have? What size loaves does it make? Do you like yours to bake the bread in, or just to mix the dough?

    (The wheat berry & rice salad looks delicious!)

  4. We have the Cuisinart CBK-200

    http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-CBK-200-2-Pound-Convection-Automatic/dp/B0009VELTQ

    It makes three different sizes, 1, 1.5 and 2 lb. I usually make only 1lb because it’s just the two of us.

    I like the bake bread both ways! For loafs I mainly bake them in the bread machine. I love to make focaccia’s, which I obviously just use the bread machine to mix the ingredients and to help the dough rise.

    I love it! I use it all the time.

    Actually, I have a recipe coming up that has millet in it. It’s a multigrain bread, very similar to the one at Panera. Do they have Panera in the North Country?

  5. Thanks for joining me on the ONE PERFECT DAY challenge! It really helps to know I’m not alone! Good Luck! And I’m definitely going to try some of your recipes, friend!

Leave a Reply

