Organic Beef

I have a few weird (hereditary- thanks Mom!) things going on with my hormon- ies (think Big Fat Greek Wedding), so my doctor suggested that I switch to all organic meats.   She said the hormones injected into regular meat, mainly beef can cause things to go “out of wack”.  Has anyone done research on this, or made the leep to all things organic?  Do you notice a difference?  I want to hear your opinions.

Truthfully, I’m more than a little skeptical ( I get that from my husband) about the whole organic meat thing.  Is a farmer really not going to treat a sick animal just for the sake of being “organic”?  I don’t get it.

Is organic meat really safer?

Is it better for you?

Is it really worth the extra money?

10 thoughts on “Organic Beef

  1. Is that true, they wouldn’t treat a sick animal? I don’t know much about organic products other than they cost more. I’ve heard they often have a better taste to them (fruits especially), but I don’t think the added cost is really worth it. But when the difference between the two (added hormones) is causing a problem then I suppose you’ll need to give it a try. I don’t believe there is enough research to prove one way or the other, but clearly, if anything, regular meat with added chemicals can’t be better for you, unless those hormones happen to be the elixir for eternal life….

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. Do a little googling you will be shocked as to what is going into your meat that is not organic. Sometimes even arsenic. As far as not treating an animal. They will treat it but will usually try natural methods first and will not slaughter until all medications have had a chance to be eliminated from the body. If the animal is very sick then it can not be used for organic purposes.

  3. Carrie H says:

    I just found your blog through several other foodie blogs … I had to comment.
    Read “Ominvore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollan. He discusses the commercial v. organic debate in such an understandable and realistic way … I can’t express how worth it this book is. It is not preach-y or really even pro- or con-anything, just straight forward. Good luck.

  4. I read The Way We Eat: Why Our Food Choices Matter earlier this month. It is totally eye-opening. The cruelty, abuse and chemicals that go into “regular” meat is incredible. Organic is definitely worth it, in all ways. See if your library has the book. You’ll be shocked by it.

  5. caliza says:

    Meh…based on what I read in Omnivore’s Dilemma, it’s not like organic is totally perfect, but if your doctor thinks it’s worthwhile you could do a trial run.

  6. I was having a problem eating red meat, it would make me sick and didn’t know why. I went a while without any off and on but really missed it and prayed and then now I can eat it with no problems!

  7. I know organic beef costs quite a bit more than regular, but it really is worth it (although I admit I’m a bit biased!)

    Meat produced by organic methods can never, ever, have been given “non-approved” substances. This means that if an animal becomes sick and has to be treated with drugs (most of which are not approved), it can no longer be certified organic (we sell the occasional animal that we have to treat direct to friends and family, after waiting many months past the “legal” withdrawal time, and with full disclosure of when and what the animal was treated with). We work hard to avoid the need to treat animals by providing excellent natural feed and a low-stress life for the beeves. We have very few animals that ever need medical treatment.

    Regular beef animals are usually treated with systemic insecticides (for internal and external parasites); some are given hormones to speed growth and improve feed conversion; all are fed with feed produced with synthetic fertilizers (derived from natural gas or oil) and various herbicides and pesticides. Nearly all commercial beef spend at least 3 months, and up to 12 months, in a feedlot–a place I think no animal should ever have to spend any time at all…

    Not only are organic farmers restricted from the use of most commonly used farm chemicals, they also have to have proactive plans for nutrient management and weed management. We pay a lot of attention to soil fertility because we can’t apply the short term “fix” of commercial nitrogen. And every year, we submit to the county our weed plan, which includes the use of livestock grazing, beneficial insects, and regular sweat-producing hand grubbing.

    I feed a family of nine on a mostly organic diet. You bet it’s expensive. But we don’t even have a family doctor, and most of my kids have never been to see one in their entire lives. Good nutrition results in healthy cattle–I think it works for people too! Cheap food is cheap for a reason.

  8. Cattle mama says:

    I bet you didn’t know you were going to get into a political debate huh?????
    I just have to add…..that I am a proud cattle producer. Our beef is handled with a great deal of care and respect for the animal. We do not implant our beef with hormones which some producer choose to do. They do that to increase the calf’s gain, so it can go to market sooner. Hormones have been atributed to causing some young girls and boys to go through puberty at a younger age. We butcher our own meat. We too live in a place where we rarely see a doctor. I take offense to the comment that cattle are abused and treated with disrespect. We treat our cattle better then some humans. Needless to say, they are “happy cows” 🙂 That negative comment may only hold true to very few cases. Just like some owners do not take good care of their dogs, cats, horses etc….and just like some parents don’t take great care of their kids. The media plays up all of these stories. Anyway, long story short…… Find a producer that you trust and butcher a side of beef with a friend and fill your freezer. It will cut your expenses and will last a long time. I am not trying to change your mind on organic meat, I think that it is a good choice, but, I also know that MANY producers take a great deal of pride and care in to producing a top quality product that we are proud of. Good luck

  9. I do not buy organic, but I try to buy local. My cousin raised beef cattle for many years, and we’ll get it from him when he has some. Other times, I’ll buy from our co-op, the non-organic stuff, but it’s still raised within 200 miles or so from me, so the traveling distance is much less than if it were shipped from out west (I’m on the Canadian east coast).

    Organic hasn’t really caught on here, there is only 1 organic beef farmer that I know of, and a guy I know swore he’d never eat his beef because his farm is kept worse than a dump.

    It’s very interesting about the hormones. Did he say something about the chicken and the milk you eat/drink too?

Leave a Reply

