Menu Plan Monday

Menu Plan Monday

Monday: Chicken Satay Skirataki Noodle Soup and Homemade Chips and Salsa

Tuesday: Leftover Shepherd’s Pie

Wednesday: Mediterranean Meatloaf, Smashed Sweet Potatoes & Salad

Thursday: Brussel Sprouts with Red Potatoes and Pumpkin cupcakes

Friday: Dinner out with the In-Laws

Chicken Satay Skirataki Noodle Soup
adapted from Rachael Ray Magazine

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Package Tofu Skirataki Spaghetti Noodles (House Foods)
  • 1 tsp. EVOO
  • 8oz Boneless Chicken Breast
  • 2 Cloves
  • 1 large Shallot
  • 6oz Snap peas
  • 1/3c. Peanut Butter
  • 1/4c. Light Soy Sauce
  • 1/4c. Thai Red Curry Paste
  • 2 tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 6c. Fat Free Chicken Broth
  • 1″ piece Fresh Ginger, pressed through garlic press
  • ½ Head Napa Cabbage, shredded
  • ½ Light Apple Juice
  • 1c. Bean Sprouts
  • 1/4c. Peanuts, unsalted
  • 1tbsp Cilantro (garnish)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Rinse Skirataki in colander thoroughly under cold water. Pat dry and set aside.

2. Meanwhile, in a soup pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the chicken and garlic and shallot. Cook, stirring, until the chicken is opaque, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

3. Add the peanut butter, tamari, curry paste and tomato paste to the pot and stir. Increase the heat to medium-high and whisk in the chicken broth; add the ginger.

4. Bring to a boil, then stir in the snap peas and cabbage and cook until cabbage is wilted about 2 minutes. Return the chicken to the pot and stir in the apple juice.

5. Divide the pasta among 4 bowls. Ladle the soup over the pasta. Top with the bean sprouts, peanuts, scallions and cilantro.

Serves: 6

1 1/2 c. per serving

7 points per serving

Check out Organizing Junkie for more Menu’s!

This weeks looks like another busy week! Lots of meetings, plans and work! But, before I forget, I was tagged!
The Rules:
1. Link your tagger and list these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
So here we go…..
1. I’m slightly obsessed with Food Network. I love to watch people cook!
2. I haven’t ridden a bike since the 6th grade.
3. I’m afraid of the dark. When my husband away on business I sleep with all the lights in the house ON.
4. I wear socks about 4 times a year. I hate hot feet.
5. Citrus is one of my favorite smells.
6. I want to learn how to container garden. I hope to grow tomatoes and cucumbers this summer.
7. I’ve never eaten sushi.
I tag…anyone who wants to participate! (ok…that’s cheesey. How about Leftover Queen, Omaha Mama, Julia, Kathy, Kath, Mommy’s Kitchen and Peanut Butter Boy).

14 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Mmmm, the chicken satay looks awesome, mostly because of the peanut butter, but sugar snap peas and cabbage are excellent with chicken and peanut sauce. Reminds me of the peanut sauce stir fry I make often. I think I’m getting the craving for it again….

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. I am definitely trying that chicken satay next week. It looks yummy.

    I giggled when I read that you sleep with your lights on when the hubby is away. i do the exact same thing.

    Are you sure you are not from Louisiana? We wear flip flops (so no socks) year round.

  3. I love the pictures. the food looks so yummy. Thanks for stopping by to check out my menu. The recipe for cowboy enchiladas is posted, if you just click on the words. I can’t figure out how to get it to show up. If you are still interested, come back and check it out.

  4. I love shirataki! Have you tried konnyaku? It’s made from the same stuff, but it comes in a block that you can chop up. I like to make sweet and sour konnyaku; it’s so good.

Leave a Reply

