Bust a Move

My workouts the last few months have been mostly on the treadmill. I started out walking, then walked at an uncomfortable speed (that was fun), then got up the strength to jog. I’m actually starting to enjoy working out to the point where if I miss a day I’m grumpy and tired. Ask my husband, he’ll tell ya!

I would like to start introducing a few other exercises though so my workouts aren’t so routine and so I don’t loose all my weight in my knees or elbows…that would be weird. A few days ago I *tried* Kathy Smith: Step Workout circa 1992. If you can get past the fact that everyone in the video wears spandex workout thongs over their biker shorts, and can tolerate the Miami Vice themed decor, it’s a really good workout. Perhaps maybe a little advanced for me at this point however. I was panting like a lizard during the warm up. I stuck it out for a good 25 of the 70 minutes though before retiring to the floor and laying flat on my back. As I was staring at the ceiling fan, I grabbed the cover to the DVD and realized that, oh by the way, this is for advanced steppers. Right…back to Netflicks you go.

Actually, did you know you could rent exercise DVD’s from Netflicks? I just realized that a few weeks ago when I was upside down on my fitness ball doing one of my favorite workout videos: Core Ball for Beginners and Beyond . This epiphany was huge! I love to try things before buying. Granted the don’t have a HUGE selection on there, but something is better than nothing, right? A few titles I WON’T be renting include but are not limited to: Carmen Electra’s Fit to Strip (What is the world coming too?), Bellydance for Beginners (ugh..tempting, but no) or Qigong (I can’t pronounce it, so I’m not doin’ it).

I had a borders coupon, so last night I did buy The Biggest Loser Workout: Power Sculpt. I haven’t tried it yet, but I did a BL workout before and loved it. They have real -pasta eating-people working out on the video. They have “wobbly bits” like me!

Click “read more” for Wednesday’s Food Journal.

Wednesday, April 2nd

Breakfast: Bagel- 8
Plain Bagel with Light Cream Cheese, Dunkin Donuts (7.5pts)
Ice Coffee with Skim milk and Splenda, Dunkin Donuts (.5pts)

Morning Snack: Fiber 1 Peanut Butter Bar – 3
Lunch: Leftovers – 8
1 srv. Buffalo Chicken Lasagna (5pts)
1c. Baby carrots (opts)
Tootsie rolls (3pts) – not planned.
72oz water (throughout the morning)
Afternoon Snack: Kettle Korn – 1
Dinner: Leftovers, again – 16.5
1 srv. Lentil Chili (6pts)
1 pcs. Light Oatmeal Bread, Country Kitchen (1pt)
1c. Couscous with dried cranberries and pine nuts (7.5pts)
1 pumpkin cupcake (3pts)
Total Points for the day: 36.5
Daily Activity Log
I bought a workout DVD, but then took a nap.
6 thoughts on “Bust a Move

  1. Can I blush now when I say that I have Carmen Electra’s workout tape? I grabbed it off the shelf thinking I was grabbing something else and did not realize it until I got home. I figure I would give it a try. It is actually quite fun and I am really sore afterwards so I know it is working.

  2. Sorry for the double post but I meant to say that you should try theFirm Beginner tapes. You have to get the old ones so you can get them on Ebay or half.com but they are awesome.

  3. Good job on the workouts! Keep it up, you will get addicted to it. I never thought I’d go to a gym, but after going for several years, I can’t last a week without going. You really get addicted to it because it gives you energy and makes you feel better. Same thing with eating healthy food, you tend to have more energy throughout the day and feel better about yourself. Keep the food journal up too. Good work Amanda!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

Leave a Reply

