Homemade Hummus

After months of begging, my husband finally broke down and bought me a food processor. He was hesitant, because he thought thinks it will end up being just another appliance to collect dust on the counter. But, because I like to prove him wrong every chance I get, I’ve been using it all the time! So far this creamy hummus recipe and Greek pita pocket are by far my favorites. What are yours? I want to hear ’em!!!

Creamy Hummus

INGREDIENTS:

1 can (15 oz.) garbanzos
2 to 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 or 2 cloves garlic, peeled
Salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:
1. Pour garbanzos into a fine strainer set over a bowl to collect liquid; reserve liquid.

2. In a blender, combine garbanzos, 2 tablespoons olive oil, lemon juice, sesame oil, garlic, and 1/3 cup of the reserved garbanzo liquid. Whirl until smooth and creamy. Add salt and pepper to taste, and, if mixture is too stiff, 1 to 2 more tablespoons liquid; hummus should be soft but still stiff enough to hold its shape. Scrape into a shallow serving bowl.

Use good quality olive oil! (Don’t I sound like Ina?)

That’s my finger print back there. I couldn’t help myself!

3. Shortly before serving, drizzle with 2 more tablespoons olive oil if desired (I omitted this step!

Makes: 1 1/4c.
WWP: 1pt per 1 tbsp

I made a Greek Pita pocket with this hummus using a low carb pita, chopped olives, cucumbers, tomatoes, spinach and reduced fat feta cheese. It was amazing!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hummus

  1. I recently posted about my first time making hummus- there are a list of variations you can try. Like red pepper….it will help you keep using that food processor. He’ll see it was well worth buying you!

Leave a Reply

