Corn Dog Good

I’ll admit, this isn’t my first corn dog. Shocked, aren’t you? This is however, my first attempt to make them a) from home and b) “healthy”. Corn dogs were considered a novelty item in my house growing up. My Mother hated novelty items and as a result we never experienced a lot of them ’till well past high school. She grew up “digging in the dirt” for her supper, or something along those lines. Truth is, she is one of 9, and to help alleviate a big grocery bill my grandmother planted big fields of vegetable gardens and my grandfather hunted through the winter for meat. Very Little House on The Prairie, I know.
Anyway back to this millennium.These didn’t turn out exactly as I had hoped. They were a little runny on the pan which resulted in flat, oval shaped corn dogs. Not company appropriate for sure. Next time I’ll cut a little liquid out of the regular recipe. Still, they were delicious and since I used 1pt hot dogs, they came out to be 2pts a piece. Score!
I can procrastinate no longer, the treadmill is calling my name…

Without further ado, the recipe…
Homemade Corn Dogs

INGREDIENTS:
3/4c. Healthy Heart Bisquick
1/4c. Cornmeal
4 tsp Splenda
1/2c. + 2 Tablespoons Skim Milk
2tbsp All-Purpose Flour
8 – 97% Fat Free Hebrew National Franks
DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

3. In a shallow pan, combine the Bisquick, cornmeal, Splenda, and milk.

5. Place the flour on a plate.

The bowl was too small, so I transfered the corn mixture to a plate

6. Insert a Popsicle stick, or wooden skewer into each hotdog.

This felt dirty for some reason

7. Roll each hotdog into the flour, then the batter to coat.

8. Place on the prepared baking sheet. Coat each hot-dog with butter flavored nonstick cooking spray.

9. Bake for 5 minutes, and then turn the hotdogs over carefully with a spatula. Coat each one with nonstick cooking spray again, and bake for 8 minutes or until golden brown.

Corn Dogs with Leftover Mac N’ Cheesey
Yes, yes I am getting sick of eating Macaroni & Cheese. As good as it is, I’m so done. Luckily, we finished off the pan tonight. On to better things.

WWP: 2 per Corn Dog

Serves: 8

3 thoughts on “Corn Dog Good

  1. Wow those sound really good. I’ve actually never had a corn dog myself, but I’ve always wanted to try one. I love those fat free hot dogs so I’ll have to give this a try. What, not dipping it in a peanut sauce (I bet it’d be good)?

    The Peanut Butter Boy

Leave a Reply

