Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Split Sandwich…

Drool.

Peanut Butter Boy, has me on this seemingly unending peanut butter kick.  Check out the cookies he whipped up recently.  Have mercy!  So last night I was flipping through some back issues of Cooking Light and found this recipe.  I got up earlyto make it and it didn’t disappoint.  Doesn’t it look great?  It was a little heavy on the nutritional info, but I managed to lighten it up a bit (6 points instead of 9!).

Click on “read more” for the play-by-play and recipe.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Split Sandwich
adapted from Cooking Light

INGREDIENTS:
2 slices, Light Italian Bread (I use Country Kitchen) – 1pt
2 tsp Light butter (I use Land O’ Lakes Light Butter with Canola Oil) – 1tp
1 tbsp Reduced Fat Peanut Butter – 2pts
1 tsp Sugar Free Honey – 1pt
1/2 tsp Sugar Free Chocolate Chips (I use Hersey) – .5pts
3 large strawberries, thinly sliced – 0pts
1/2 small banana, cut into 10 pieces – 1pt
1 tbsp Sugar Free Strawberry Jam – opts

DIRECTIONS:
1.  Spread one side of each bread slice with 1 teaspoon butter.

2.  Combine peanut butter and honey; spread over plain side of 1 bread slice.

 

3.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips.

 

4.  Top evenly with strawberry slices and banana slices.

5.  Spread  jam over plain side of remaining bread slice. Carefully assemble sandwich.

6.  Heat a small nonstick skillet over medium-high heat or griddle. Add sandwich; cook 2 minutes on each side or until lightly browned.

7.  Lick your plate clean!  Why haven’t we thought of this before? 

Servings: 1

WWP: 6.5p

9 thoughts on “Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Split Sandwich…

  1. My fiance, Roberto, loves banana splits! I think he would love this sandwich! I don’t do sugar free stuff, so I would have to modify the recipe a little, but it looks like a knockout!

    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll! 🙂

  2. Wow Amanda, I’m proud of you! Thanks for the mention, I’m glad I got your mind going, your becoming an addict like me! I gotta say, this sounds awesome. I’ll be trying this once I get my hands on some strawberries and I’ll be sure to mention you for the inspiration =)!

    To cut the points even more, you could easily use cooking spray instead of butter to toast the outsides. In fact, I just discovered a canola oil “butter flavored” spray from Spectrum. I didn’t realize it was butter flavored and when I sprayed it, I immediately thought someone had shoved buttered popcorn under my noise. Also, you might consider using a pinch of Splenda and a few shakes of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate. Not bad for 6.5 points though, I hope you enjoyed it!

    Oh, and be prepared to get further sucked into the peanut butter realm. Over the summer I was visiting home and my mother and I kept discussing peanut butter and potential recipes. Well we talked about it so much around my Dad that after about 5 minutes of listening to us, he would run to the kitchen and eat a spoonful of peanut butter because it always “just sounded so good”.

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  3. Holy cow those look so good! I love peanut butter. LOVE peanut butter!

    Thanks too, for reinspiring me about journaling. I journal all of the time, but had gotten away for the dieting journal, and yes, there’s a separate journal for it. Your post made me laugh, I keep repeating the same mistakes and having the same thoughts too. Sometimes it all seems so innate, I wonder if I’ll ever really change! But I’ve got to keep trying, your blog is inspiring me to do just that and I’ve lost 4 lbs in 2 weeks!

  4. HOLY YUM! This picture made my jaw drop…I had to try not to drool in front of my family, lol. Amanda, YOU TOTALLY ROCK MY SOCKS for posting this recipe and I’m so excited for Brunch this weekend 🙂 Hope you had a fabulous Humpday! And thanks again for the inspiration/recipeeee

  5. Oh, this does look yummy and it’s healthy too?? Does that mean I can have about 3 in a row, right?

    Now to check out this peanut butter boy.

Leave a Reply

