Mac N’ Cheesey

I hymned and hawd all week about what to make for tonight’s Good Friday Potluck at church. I was going to make chicken stuffed with spinach, but chicken is really expensive right now, so I opted not to do that. Then I thought “maybe I’ll make chili”, but its annoying to carry a plate and a bowl through the buffet line, so I opted not to do that either. Finally, I decided to make an old standby with a twist: Macaroni with four cheeses. Sounds naughty doesn’t it?

Not this recipe!

 

Macaroni and 4 Cheeses
by: Ellie Krieger

INGREDIENTS:
Cooking spray
1 pound elbow macaroni
2 (10-ounce) packages frozen pureed winter squash
2 cups 1 percent lowfat milk
4 ounces extra-sharp Cheddar, grated (about 1 1/3 cups)
2 ounces Monterrey jack cheese, grated (about 2/3 cup)
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon powdered mustard
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons unseasoned bread crumbs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan
1 teaspoon olive oil

 

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Coat a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with cooking spray.

3. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the macaroni and cook until tender but firm, about 5 to 8 minutes. Drain and transfer to a large bowl.

4. Meanwhile, place the frozen squash and milk into a large saucepan and cook over a low heat, stirring occasionally and breaking up the squash with a spoon until it is defrosted. Turn the heat up to medium and cook until the mixture is almost simmering, stirring occasionally.

5. Remove the pan from heat and stir in the Cheddar, jack cheese, ricotta cheese, salt, mustard and cayenne pepper. Pour cheese mixture over the macaroni and stir to combine.

Shredded cheese

6. Transfer the macaroni and cheese to the baking dish.

7. Combine bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese and oil in a small bowl.

8. Sprinkle over the top of the macaroni and cheese. Bake for 20 minutes, then broil for 3 minutes so the top is crisp and nicely browned.

Serving size: 2 cups (recipe serves 8 total)

Calories: 392
Fat: 11
Fiber: 3.5
WWP: 8

14 thoughts on “Mac N’ Cheesey

  1. Mrs. Odom says:

    It may come with you but it will be going home with me. 🙂 I have 8,000 servings of potato salad ready to go. 🙂

  2. Mrs. Odom says:

    Mama didn’t raise no fool. I put Aaron on peeling duty this time. 🙂 (I refuse as I lose a fingernail EVERY TIME I peel a potato.)

  3. Delicious! I just made a almost fat-free mac n cheese as well. I threw in some ground beef, spinach and mushrooms and used cottage/cheddar and sour cream. Good stuff and filling to boot! But I bet you had a lot of leftovers? I got sick of it pretty quick.

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  4. Do you have any idea what the nutrition facts would be if I used whole wheat macaroni noodles instead? By the way, love, love, loving your site!

  5. Pingback: Down Home Dieting

Leave a Reply

