Whoopie Pie Showdown

booga.jpg

I was first introduced to a whoopie pie in 6th grade. My best good friend Erica’s family is Mennonite (radical Amish) from the Pennsylvania Dutch area and her Mom made them all the time. I love her mom.

Since moving to Maine in ’05, I see them everywhere! Apparently (I googled it) whoopie pies are “one of Maine’s best known and most loved comfort foods”. You literally can buy them at any restaurant, gas station, florist or shoe store. They’re everywhere!

A whoopie pie is like a sandwich, but made with two soft cookies with a fluffy white filling. Traditional whoopie pies are made with big gobs of shortening! We frown on all that shortening over here. So I made a lighter, more figure friendly version and it came out great!

Click “read more” for the recipe!

Lite Whoopie Pies

INGREDIENTS:
1 box Spice Cake Mix (I use Duncan Hines extra moist)
1c. Water
1 can of Pumpkin
1 tub of Free Cool Whip
1 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice
Cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1. With an electric mixer beat cake mix, water, pumpkin pie spice and can of pumpkin until smooth.

2. Spray two cookie sheets.

3. Use an ice cream scoop to put batter in 24 even mounds on the cookie sheet.

4. Bake for 8-10minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

5. Cool completely.

6. Add 1 tbsp cinnamon to the tub of FREE Cool Whip and stir.

7. Fill each half with 2 TBSP of cool whip mixture.

8. Enjoy! You can also freeze them for a frozen whoopie treat!

Serves: 12
WWP: 4 (or more depending on how much cool whip you use!)

For the full fat version (left picture) go here!

7 thoughts on “Whoopie Pie Showdown

  1. Crista says:

    Thanks for stopping by..I need to read more on your blog..I love all the pictures and recipes…I need somebody like you to just come and cook for me…I have no problem eating healthy..its the cooking part…keep up your great work..and I will be visiting soon!

  2. freepersonaltrainer says:

    ooooh that looks delcious!

    good job making it a healthier option! im going to have to give it a try!

  3. YUM! I have made whoopie pies before and bought them from a real Old Order Amish family in Lancaster, PA and they are GOOD! =0 However the ones I ate and the one I made were black with white cream in the middle…….maybe there are different kinds I guess? I will have to try yours out sometime!

  4. I just stumbled across your blog and I love all the healthy recipes! I grew up in Dutch Country USA and LOOOOVE whoopie pies. I’ve been wondering if there was a lowfat version… so excited to find this one. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

