Egg-cellent

Every other Thursday night we have a group of close friends that come over for dessert and to watch LOST. Well, the guys watch it. We girls mostly cackle in the kitchen about the stupid thing(s) our husbands did or said that week. We talk about recipes, work, our hair, other people’s hair, the gym, running 5k’s (top on my list, not)…all the while shoving sweets into our mouths between breaths and fits of laughter.

Making dessert has been a bit of a challenge though because a) Figure friendly desserts are not always crowd pleasers, b) we have a friend who is fasting all sweets for Lent (gasp!) and c) three out of four of the girls hate chocolate (who are these people? why do I hang out with them?).

Needless to say we have resorted to savory desserts. This week my friend from Tennessee brought homemade salsa. It was To Die For. Southern girls can cook anything, I’m convinced of that. How is it they can stay so thin? The basic ingredient in every recipe is 2 lbs of butter!

Because of my incredible self restraint (cough) we had leftover salsa which inspired me to make Mexican Baked Egg Casserole the following morning for breakfast. I saw a basic recipe for baked eggs here and I tweaked it to my palate.

Continue reading for recipe and pictures!

Mexican Baked Egg Casserole
Serves 6

INGREDIENTS:
4 eggs, beaten
1/3c milk
1/4c all-purpose flour
1/2tsp baking powder
1c light cottage cheese (I only had 4% on hand)
4 cloves garlic, crushed through garlic press
1/3 cup salsa
1/3 cup frozen corn kernels
1/3 cup canned black beans
1c Simply potatoes hash-browns
1/3 cup Shredded Mexican Cheese, Weight Watchers

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 375-degrees.

2. In a small skillet, spray cooking spray and brown hash browns. Set aside and allow to cool before adding to mixture.

2. Combine eggs, milk, flour, and cottage cheese. Beat until combined.

3. Stir in remaining ingredients and pour into a greased 9-inch pie plate.

4. Bake, uncovered, 25-30 minutes or until golden and knife inserted into center comes out clean.

Hot out of the oven!

I like to put more salsa on top, but I’m a salsa freak. Do what you like!

Last bite!

Serves: 6
WWP: 4 per slice

5 thoughts on “Egg-cellent

  1. That looks outstanding. I looooooove Mexican food, this sounds right up my alley. I just bought some EggBeaters too and had no real plans to use them! I think I’ll fresh shred some sweet potatoes and use that instead.

    By the way, I really like your blog Amanda, I think I’ll be adding it to my blogroll =)

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. Tanya Hall says:

    Hey Amanda!
    You are hysterical and love reading your blog!
    I have saved it as a favorite and forwarded it to my friends who I am doing WW with.
    I get the feeling that you are very talented when it comes to cooking. I see what you are able to create with food and your ideas are delicious!
    I just read about your Thursday nights and it made me laugh to myself. (my husband is sitting close by and if I lol then there would be all kinds of questions…)

    Anyway, I think you should go in to business for sure…
    Great recipes and fantastic sense of humour with a knack for writing!

    Take care and thanks for all of the work you put in to your site.
    Tanya

Leave a Reply

