Black Bean Brownies

It seem that there was a little confusion about this recipe in my last post.  I posted recipes for Black Bean Burgers and Black Bean Brownies in the same post:  Black Bean Bonanza.  Apparently it was confusing because I literally got 64,001  e-mails about it (thanks for the feedback!). 

So here it is.  The black bean brownie recipe, alone, in all it’s gooey chocolaty gloriousness:

INGREDIENTS:
1 Box Betty Crocker Low Fat Fudge Brownie Mix
1 (15 oz.) Can Black Beans, rinsed and drained
1 Cup Water
1/4c. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Puree the beans and water together until smooth in a blender.
3. Stir into the brownie mix until combined.
4. Spray a 9X13 pan with non-stick cooking spray.
5. Pour the mixture into the pan and sprinkle with chocolate chips.
6. Bake for 25-27 minutes or until a toothpick inserted 2 inches from the side of the pan comes out almost clean.
7. Cool completely and then cut into 24 pieces.

I PROMISE you can’t taste the beans.  My husband who is the pickiest eater in the world scarfed three of them down before I told him they had black beans in them.  This brownie is more like a dense cake like brownie and is fabulous topped with FREE Cool Whip.

Serves: 24
Points: 2 per brownie

Click here for a printable version of Black Bean Brownies! 

3 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. I’ve been seeing these black bean brownies everywhere. I really need to make these. You might be interested in one of these other recipes I found that is almost just as simple but completely homemade and even healthier!

    http://havecakewilltravel.com/2007/07/26/this-is-whats-in-the-oven-now/
    http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/recipes.asp?recipe=21834

    I would use sugar instead of Splenda in the second one, but still VERY healthy!

    I know I’ll be making these soon.

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. Jenn says:

    I just made these brownies yesterday – was pointed to them by a friend of mine.

    They. Are. Fantastic!

    You wouldn’t believe it, but they’re really, REALLY good.

Leave a Reply

