Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip, and Pecan Cookies

Diet Food? Um, Sorta.

final2.jpg

It was a looooooong day at work today so I planned to come home and make some cookies for dessert.   I was craving chocolate and Andy has been begging me to make something that didn’t have flax seed or spinach in it.  So I purposely saved enough points throughout the day to indulge just a little while still staying on track.  My plans were deterred however when a friend called who was having a really, really bad day.  We ended up taking her and her daughter to dinner and accompanied them to worship night at church.  We didn’t get home until after 8pm.  Usually the time I turn into a pumpkin (these early morning workouts are killing me).

I succumbed to my husbands desperate stares and ended up making them tonight.  And I’m glad I did!  They are the most delicious 2pt cookie I’ve had!  Small.  Tiny even, but delicious! 

Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip, and Pecan Cookies

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/4c.  all purpose flour
  • 1c. regular oats
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 1/2c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3c. butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4c. chopped pecans
  • 1/4 c. mini chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Mix together first 4 ingredients in seperate bowl.
  3. Add remaining ingredients (minus the pecans and chocolate chips) in another bowl and mix until smooth.
  4. Slowly add dry ingredients.  Mix until well incorporated.

Add in 1/4c. chocolate chips (I didn’t have any mini)

Chop nuts and add to mixture.

I remember one time when I watching Rachel Ray she said ” Now remember GUYS, keep your NUTS in the freezer when your done with them’.  Ha ha.  Crass, yes!  But so funny!

It should look like this.  Resist the temptation to eat the raw dough!

In order to ensure correct points value per cookie.  I measure the dough and then divide it into three equal balls.

Because the recipe makes 36 cookies, I roll the three equal balls into logs and cut them into 12 equal portion cookies.

12 equal portions

Place on greased cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes.

Now go buy a lock for the cookie jar. 

Recipe yields 36 cookies.  Each cookie is 81 Calories, 3gm of Fat, .5gm Fiber, 2 points each.

 

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip, and Pecan Cookies

  1. You know those Betty Crocker low fat brownie mixes…well, you take one pack of those…then you do the following:

    Take two cups of bran (the bud kind, or the stick kind) and you smash it up in to powder (I use my magic bullet). Then, you add the water that is required in the brownie mix (I think its a cup? Can’t remember now) and you let the water get soaked up in the bran for 10 minutes. Then you proceed with making the brownie’s as per the direction on the box…but, when it calls for the water, you add the bran. Mix it up. I put 1/4 of bater in the muffin papers…and that equals out to be 1 point of healthy tasty goodness!

Leave a Reply

