Veggie Delight

It’s leap year, so technically today is an extra day! I celebrated by trying out a recipe I’ve always wanted to try: Spicy Black Bean and Zucchini over at Green Light Bites. Honestly, I really wasn’t prepared for it to knock my socks off because I thought I hated zucchini … well, I was wrong! It’s ridiculously good. You must try it. Right now. Go.

zuchinni.jpg

Start by chopping up a zucchini in teeny tiny bits
onions.jpg
Saute about 1/4c. of onions in a pan
black-bean-and-zuchinni-scramble.jpg
Mix in 1 8oz can of drained corn (or put a few handfuls of frozen corn, like I did), add 1 tsp. chili powder, 1/2tsp cumin and a 15oz can of drained black beans. Heat through and we’re done! That was easy wasn’t it? Full the full recipe click here.
This is where it gets good!
tortillas-grillin.jpg
Grill two corn tortillas on a stovetop grill sprayed with cooking spray (I use Mission Style – 90 calories for 2 – 1pt for both). Add 1/3c Weight Watchers shredded Mexican cheese, melt, and then put 1/3c of Zucchini bean mixture in each.
Top with 1 tbsp. light sour cream.
tortillas.jpg
Lick your plate clean for 6 pts total!
Spicy Black Bean and Zucchini Mixture – 2pts for 2/3c.
Mission White Corn tortillas – 1pt for 2
Weight Watchers Shredded Mexican cheese – 2pts for 1/3c.
Light Sour cream – 1pt for 3 tbsp.

The Spicy Black Bean and Zucchini mixture also turns into great appetizers by using wonton wrappers! Click here for the full recipe!

wonton-assembly.jpg
Careful not to over stuff
black-bean-and-zuchinni-wontons.jpg
Beautiful, crisp and delicious!

*Hot* Dog

According to my MPM yesterdays dinner was *suppose* to consist of lentil chili and homemade foccacia bread.   Homemade bread on a Thursday?  I’m a working girl (not that kind), what was I thinking?  Add to that, we had friends coming over on a “school” night to watch Lost so dinner needed to be quick!

I substituted the foccacia bread for hot dogs!  Diet friendly hot dogs to be specific.  I read lots of blogs during the day and Hebrew National 97% Fat Free franks get mentioned a lot (read about them here and here and on Hungry Girl).  So yesterday I decided to try them. 

For one point I thought they were really good.  I ate them with a Country kitchen light wheat bun for a total of 2 pts!  I like that they are low points, but they definitely don’t compare to the real thing.  Before I found these I had been eating Oscar Mayer Light Wieners (he he he) for 2pts and I think they taste more authentic.

97% FF Hot Dogs

Lentil Chili

Since we had friends over I decided to make (read: buy) a diet friendly dessert – Angel Food Cake.  It’s not DH’s favorite, but he ate it because it’s one of the only sweet things left in the house – besides me of course.  Fresh berries and Free coolwhip made this dessert a mere three points. I love entertaining and staying OP (on point).

It feels like your being naughty, but your not!  What could be better?