Saturday Link-fest

I’ve had a lazy Saturday so far.  Slept in until 10, made breakfast, read some blogs, watched the US Women’s Volleyball team kick butt in the Olympics and threw in a load of laundry.

Now I’m sitting downstairs willing myself to finish the slide show I started for my sisters wedding next week.  It’s almost done.  Almost.  I just have to set music to it which is the most annoying part – by far.  I’m just sick of looking at it, so I thought I would do a little link-fest instead.  That’s much more fun.

Here are some things that have piqued my interest in the blog world as of late:

White Bean Cassoulet  - I have to make this.  I just have to.  Although, I’m afraid of how high in points it will be.  For now, I will just drool.  Lisa Garza, a contestant from The Next Food Network Star made this on the final day of the competition.  Did anyone catch it?  It looked amazing.  She didn’t win though.  No one I ever want to win actually does.   Oh and I have to have this apron.  If your going to cook french food you must dress the part.   Right?  Yeah, my DH didn’t buy it either. 

Check out the Sweet Potato, Quinoa and Black Bean bites over at Diet, Dessert and Dogs.  Weird flavor combination for me, but worth a try just for curiosity sake.

The Leftover Queen recently posted a recipe for Mozarella Stuffed Portabellasthat looks easy and delicious.  They will definitely make it into the meal plan next week.

Dani SpiesApple and Cheddar Egg Pizza looks too good to pass up!  Doesn’t that sound so good?  Lucky for me I have leftover apples around from making Apple Crisp Cake the other day. 

I want these too.  Aren’t they the perfect bowls for chili?  Three Bean Chili, perhaps?

Great blog post on Quinoa (pronounced Keen-Wah) over at Slim Shoppin’.

Free Weight Watchers Calculator!

Stephanie’s crock pot Chicken Cordon Blue looks really good and easily adaptable to WW friendly crowds.  She has committed to crock-pot something everyday for an entire year.  You wouldn’t believe some of the stuff she comes up with.  Head over to A Year of CrockPotting and check it out!

Finally, Pioneer Woman Ree inspired me to make one of my favorite dishes: Shredded Pork.  I have some bubbling away in the crockpot now.  She makes her’s a little different than mine (I like sweet, she likes spicy), but it still looks amazing.  I’ll be posting the recipe and pictures of mine later today.  While your over at Pioneer Woman don’t forget to enter in her latest cooking related contest.  She’s giving away knife sets!

Well, that’s enough procrastination for now.  The slideshow is calling!

Have a great Saturday!

3 thoughts on “Saturday Link-fest

  1. I made Pioneer Woman’s pork this week too. I turned mine into carnitas. Once the pork cooked all day I put about 2 tbl of oil into a pan on high heat and then covered the pan with the shredded meat and let it crisp up for a couple of minutes. Tastes great on corn tortillas with whatever fixings you like.

    With the leftovers I’m probably going to make bbq pulled pork sandwiches.

  2. Hi Amanda,
    What a great blog this is! I’m quite intrigured by the white bean cassoulet as well.. . and thanks for the link to the Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Quinoa Bites! Yes, an unusual combination of flavors, but they do actually work really well together. The key is not to underbake them before cutting! Hope you enjoy them if you do give them a try.

    Now I’m off to check out your archives!

    Ricki :)

  3. I have a recipe from the WW’s Simple and Classic Homecooking for a 6pt per serving Cassoulet. It still has most of the basics covered. If you would like the recipe just email me and I can send it your way. I am making it for the first time this week. I cannot wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

