Food Journal – Thursday

Breakfast: Cereal with Skim Milk – 4
1c. Puff Cereal, Kashi (1pt)
3/4c. Heart to Heart Cereal, Kashi (2pts)
2/3c. Skim milk (1pt)
kashi-heart-to-heart.jpg

Morning Snack: Cheese & Crackers – 3
1 serving Crackers, Kashi(2pts)
1 cheese wedge, Laughing Cow (1pt)
Pomegranate Raspberry Tea (opts)

Lunch: Soup & Sandwich – 9.5
2 c. Light Italian Style Soup, Progresso (1.5)
Light Italian Bread, Country Kitchen (2pts for 2 slices)
Light Deli Ham, Healthy Ones (1pt. for 4 slices)
Turkey Pepperoni, Hormel(1pt. for 7 pcs.)
Baby Spinach (0pts)
100 Calorie Sun chips (2pts)
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies(2pts)
ham-spinach.jpg

Afternoon Snack: Kettle Korn – 1

Dinner: Homegroup Night   Veggie and Canadian Bacon Frittata – 13
I was so sick, we decided to stay home from home group.  Instead, I made Frittata’s!

3 whole eggs (6pts)
1 tsp olive oil (1pt)
1 wedge of cheese, Laughing Cow (1pt)
3 slices Canadian Bacon (1pt)
Onions, Mushrooms, Spinach, Tomato (opts)
1 slice Yellow American cheese, Weight Watchers  (1pt)
1c. Nonfat vanilla yogurt, Dannon Light & Fit (1pt)
1/4c. Cranberry pecan granola, Back to Nature (2pts)
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies(2pts)

 frittata.jpg

Evening Snack:  Weight Watchers Giant Fudge Sundae – 2
Giant fudge sundae, Weight Watchers (2pts)

Total Points for the day:  32.5

Daily Activity Log
15 minutes of jogging/panting (treadmill), 30 minutes of brisk walking (treadmill), 100 crunches on medicine ball.

Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip, and Pecan Cookies

Diet Food? Um, Sorta.

final2.jpg

It was a looooooong day at work today so I planned to come home and make some cookies for dessert.   I was craving chocolate and Andy has been begging me to make something that didn’t have flax seed or spinach in it.  So I purposely saved enough points throughout the day to indulge just a little while still staying on track.  My plans were deterred however when a friend called who was having a really, really bad day.  We ended up taking her and her daughter to dinner and accompanied them to worship night at church.  We didn’t get home until after 8pm.  Usually the time I turn into a pumpkin (these early morning workouts are killing me).

I succumbed to my husbands desperate stares and ended up making them tonight.  And I’m glad I did!  They are the most delicious 2pt cookie I’ve had!  Small.  Tiny even, but delicious! 

Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip, and Pecan Cookies

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/4c.  all purpose flour
  • 1c. regular oats
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 1/2c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3c. butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4c. chopped pecans
  • 1/4 c. mini chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Mix together first 4 ingredients in seperate bowl.
  3. Add remaining ingredients (minus the pecans and chocolate chips) in another bowl and mix until smooth.
  4. Slowly add dry ingredients.  Mix until well incorporated.

Add in 1/4c. chocolate chips (I didn’t have any mini)

Chop nuts and add to mixture.

I remember one time when I watching Rachel Ray she said ” Now remember GUYS, keep your NUTS in the freezer when your done with them’.  Ha ha.  Crass, yes!  But so funny!

It should look like this.  Resist the temptation to eat the raw dough!

In order to ensure correct points value per cookie.  I measure the dough and then divide it into three equal balls.

Because the recipe makes 36 cookies, I roll the three equal balls into logs and cut them into 12 equal portion cookies.

12 equal portions

Place on greased cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes.

Now go buy a lock for the cookie jar. 

Recipe yields 36 cookies.  Each cookie is 81 Calories, 3gm of Fat, .5gm Fiber, 2 points each.