A love affair with Ellie K. and her Smoothies

Ellie Krieger has got to be one of my favorite Food Network personalities.  She not only makes healthy food, but it’s delicious and easy.  My husband bought me her new cookbook The Food You Crave for Valentine’s Day this year and I haven’t put it down since.  I can’t say the same for many of the other cookbooks on my shelf.  Oh look, here is part of my shelf now…

Buy the green one!  It’s Great!

This morning I flipped to dog-eared page 18, Blueberry Blast Smoothies.  Hallelujah, Praise the Lord!   We ate all our blueberries earlier in the week, so I substituted strawberries and added a little flax seed and it turned out amazing!  Let me walk you through it…

Gather ingredients:  FF yogurt, FF milk, Frozen Strawberries and Flax Seeds (optional), oh and honey!  I always forget the honey!

Add 1/2c. FF yogurt and 1/2c. of FF milk to the blender

Add 1 rounded cup of Frozen strawberries

Measure out 1 tsp. of Flax seeds.  Aren’t they pretty?

Add them to the blender

1 tbsp. honey

Blend until smooth.  I let it run about a minute.

See the flaxies in it?

Enjoy!

Recipe makes 1 serving (appox. 12oz)

Each serving is 3 pts/4pts with optional flax seeds

 

2 thoughts on “A love affair with Ellie K. and her Smoothies

  1. Hi!
    I found you from a link on Roni’s Weight Watchen site and just wanted to tell you that I love your blog! I just joined WW at the end of Dec. too, so I’m looking forward to trying out some of the recipes you’ve shared. Thanks and keep up the great work!
    JennyK

Leave a Reply

